Hugh Carty on Mont Ventoux when he was still a boy!The Tom Simpson Award 2018

The winners of the 2018 Tom Simpson Memorial Awards are:-
Joe Law from Doncaster and George Wood from Sheffield, each have received £500 to help them with their racing in 2019. There will be more information about Joe and George, and their progress, on this website later.

We plan to continue this grants program and invite further applications. You must apply in writing only, by sending an e-mail to the fund’s contact page, explaining in around one hundred words why you should receive a grant.

This award is available only to riders from British Cycling's youth and junior categories, who live in the North Midlands area as defined below.

The next grants will be awarded in December 2019, please apply by November 30th, 2019.
 The North Midlands area has been chosen because it was the British Cycling (BC), Cycling Time Trials (CTT) and British League of Racing Cyclists (BLRC) division in which Tom Simpson started cycling, and in which he won his first title, the 1954 North Midlands junior hill climb.
For the purposes of this award we will use the current CTT definition of the North Midlands as The North Midlands is defined as “Those parts of South and West Yorkshire, Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire bounded by: On the North by A628 FROM SALTERS BROOK BRIDGE TO A629 at Hoylandswaine Island. Straight lines to A628/A638 at Ackworth Moor Top Island, to A19/M62 AT WHITLEY ISLAND.  M62 to M18 (junction 35) and straight line to River Ouse at Old Goole.  The River Ouse to River Trent.  On the East by the River Trent to A57 at Dunham Bridge.  On the South BY A57, A6075 VIA TUXFORD TO A614/A616 AT OLLERTON ISLAND. Straight line to A6/A615 at Matlock.  A6 via Bakewell to junction with A5270 at Blackwell.  On the West by straight lines from A6/A5270 at Blackwell to A623 at Sparrowpit and A628 at Salters Brook Bridge
map of the route